From the Studio

thoughts on art and process in action from a contemporary artist

Open Studios Friday the 23rd.

leave a comment »


Come be part of the creative process!

Join me for the Opening Reception at the Art Explosion

Friday night (9/23) only 7-11
2425 17th St, SF, CA
Studio 2A (keep right as you enter, studio door on right side in the first room).

More info at: http://www.artexplosionstudios.com/events/events.php

Dada Tarot2I take a different sort of approach to Open Studios than many artists- I actually work during it, mostly because most of my work is interactive and part of the process is input from many people.  I like having many different perspectives other than my own when I create these pieces, and I like to road-test them, so the crowds of open studios are ready material.  This means you can not only see art, but be a part of the creative process!

Right now I’m working on a piece about Access, and I can’t wait to see what personal experiences and reactions visitors will share.  What I learn will almost certainly shape how I chose to make the future interactive piece.

#DadaTaroT (my most recent interactive and participatory piece) will also be up for people to experiment with (minus the formal performance).  Unfortunately some of the cards were stolen at the Dada Here and Now show (no fault to the curators, they were fabulous), but perhaps the theft is part of the element of Chance.  You can judge for yourself when you try it.

I look forward to seeing many of you there.

Written by marycoreymarch

September 17, 2016 at 1:15 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

