From the Studio

thoughts on art and process in action from a contemporary artist

many little envelopes

leave a comment »


envelopesI’ve been working on my new project, working title “Write me for art” which will probably  not be the name of the actual piece, but it is what I’m asking people to do.  If you want to be part of it, see the instructions here.

I’ve been hunting responses from strangers.  So far I’ve posted a call here, but more importantly I’ve wandered around a little- I’ve passed out the instructions with a stamped and addressed envelope to a person on the street, a group of elderly friends on the bus, a cab driver, a parent at a kid’s birthday, a nurse, a wine-tasting bartender in Napa, a couple at an art opening (not in the gallery, but on their way out).  All different ages, different walks of life.  And I asked each of them them to try and find a person or two to do it and add to their envelope before they sent it to me- the more different from each other the better.  I intend to bring a big stack to my upcoming NYC/Boston/ New Hampshire trip to distribute at will.

I’m curious what will happen.  How many will I get and what will they be like?  I’m expecting at least a hundred, possibly hundreds over the next few months.  It’s the sort of thing that will spread over time.  I’m giving myself until the end of the calender year to collect responses and hand embroider them- then I’ll see where I want to take the piece from that point.  There’s other components to the complete piece, but I’ll leave you there for now.  Some of it I’m waiting to decide until I see how the process unfolds and the ideas it gives me.  And  yes I do realize the time commitment.  Yes, I’m that kind of crazy,  This is not news for my practice.  I love challenges.

In the meantime I’m working on what looks like a commissioned permanent Installation (details still in negotiation process) and continuing work on the Access piece (which also involves talking to strangers).

I love working this way.  I meet so many different kinds of people.

Written by marycoreymarch

July 17, 2013 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

