From the Studio

thoughts on art and process in action from a contemporary artist

Nonsense Text

with 4 comments


backsMy work has increasing amounts of text in it.

These are the backs of the embroidered “postcard” parts of the piece that came out of my Aurora-hunting trip to Norway and Sweden.  Something about the cadence of writing, the gesture without the meaning is very attractive to me.  There are a number of artists working in imaginary text in this way.  I recently saw Gu Wenda’s united nations — babel of the millennium at SF MOMA that really struck me and stayed with me.  I saw another piece by an Asian artist- I think Korean, but I’m not sure that consisted of a room full of open texts which were in a generically Asian-looking text that was also nonsense characters.  I need to track that artist and his work down!  *

For some reason as soon as I start to get interested in text I became interested in text failing to reveal the sort of meaning we expect from text and retaining only the visual language of gesture.

*later note, thanks to Melinda I have the name I was searching for- Xu Bing and the piece is “Tianshu” (book from the sky)

Written by marycoreymarch

April 17, 2013 at 11:30 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the text work. I also am drawn to mythical text in textiles. I have just completed a run of cards made in this vein, I will publish the photos when they are dry.

    knittedfog

    April 17, 2013 at 12:15 pm

  2. Is the artist Xu Bing? His work Tianshu seems to fit your description, as does Square Word Calligraphy to a lesser extent.

    Melinda T. Owens

    April 17, 2013 at 10:06 pm

  3. I love the different colors used in these fibers works!

    segmation

    April 25, 2013 at 8:47 am


Leave a Reply

