From the Studio

thoughts on art and process in action from a contemporary artist

Weaving the Digital Girl 2

with 2 comments


Finally a successful process!

Mind you, weaving with half-invisible super-small-gauge mono-filament is incredibly frustrating and there is a lot of undoing work so that I can fix a tiny error several rows up, but at least the process itself is now creating the result I wanted.  The trickiest part of the process seems more like embroidery than weaving and happens in mono-filament after I’ve woven a few rows of weft ahead.  It’s much more complicated than it looks.

The materials are two different kinds of computer wire, mono-filament, laser-cut acrylic sheets and electrical tape.  The process began years ago with me doing tiny rough sketches of portraits in museums and then running them through a series of digital manipulations until they got into a binary form I liked.  I’ve then taken a detail-selection from one such drawings and plotted it for weaving.  The goal was to toss this person through digital and human processes and reinterpretations but maintain some raw essence of humanity throughout.  I’m also playing with the antiquity of weaving set alongside it’s contemporary offspring- the computer.

I was waiting until I saw enough of the eye to tell me if it was a success, and I’m happy to say that it is.  The rest is finishing and framing and neatening up… barring random misfortunes and curve balls.

The piece is smaller than I usually work, but I think I like the intimacy here.  Also, it makes the scale a little closer to human scale.   I’m pleased with the effect that when you are at a typical viewing distance from the piece (about 3 feet) the eye resolves well into an eye and it is about the same scale as the eyes of someone you are intimate with (one foot away).  I’m very pleased with that effect.

As frustrating as making this is I’m very happy with the results so far now that the process is resolved.

Related posts:  Digital Girl, Weaving the Digital Girl

Written by marycoreymarch

April 28, 2012 at 9:47 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow this is so effective!

    thriftyniftygifty

    April 28, 2012 at 9:52 am

  2. That’s really looking neat. I’m glad you were able to coerce the monofilament into working for you!

    carolyn

    April 28, 2012 at 10:45 am


Leave a Reply

