From the Studio

thoughts on art and process in action from a contemporary artist

Process- binary pieces

with one comment


I have a large back burner in my mind for projects.  Projects that persist (some for years) and even develop back there are things that I know must be done.  For whatever reason they are pushed back: less studio painting time, no access to that material, expense, too far from current work, no upcoming exhibition prospects that make them more pressing than other work… there are many reasons.

I have never lacked for inspiration, only time, materials, money, space and similar. It is also frustrating to make work if I don’t know it will physically go somewhere that it gets seen properly.  Some things I have in my mind are just too big to store.  Others are missing some crucial thing and I keep returning to them and poking at them.

I did a “Binary Drawings” series when I first came to San Francisco years ago.  I enjoy them and find them valuable, but at some point it occurred to me that some of the thumbnails I made that were partial images were more interesting than the whole and push them to another level conceptually.   That sat with me for a while.  What has occurred to me more recently is that they could potentially make a stronger link my between binary language in computing to describe things with weaving as a binary language.  It was something that was in my mind when I did them, but didn’t directly translate in the digital prints.  Now it seems obvious that there should be a woven version of the partial drawings.  Tonight I realized that the weaving must be done in computer wire and I found some I can use.  Now it’s just a matter of execution.

I think I’l be starting with this one.  One advantage:  this is something I can do at home in caught moments and won’t cut into my studio painting time.

Written by marycoreymarch

March 3, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Posted in art, drawing, materials, process

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ooh, that sounds neat! Looking forward to hearing/seeing more about this one. 🙂 Looking at the other page, I agree that the thumbnails stand out more.

    carolyn

    March 3, 2012 at 9:53 pm


Leave a Reply

