From the Studio

thoughts on art and process in action from a contemporary artist

alley

with 3 comments


I got in a little time on Wednesday and more yesterday.  The walls and alley floor are beginning to take shape.  More layers required, but it goes.  This painting is feeling good in its progression.  It’s not fast (not with the amount of layers and detail it will get), but it’s going well.  One of my many source images for alleyways already had a perfect solution to the perspective problem to work directly from.  It was a larger alley opening onto a wide street with a building across the street at the correct scale.  So the suggestion of the street at the end, given a few more cues should do the trick.  I also wanted doorways that were shut.  One source image had a doorway that was actually concreted over, and I ended up using that one.

The main thing that was important to me was the visuals rather than correct perspective, but I like doing both.  I wanted the visual of the perspective being at the angle they are, the sense of possibly being in a dead-end, and possibly not, the size and shape of the windows behind reflecting the sky, and the sense that the mother figure is both possible but somehow detached and larger than life (and slightly scaled up from the figure she is holding).

Written by marycoreymarch

January 14, 2012 at 4:50 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “…the mother figure is both possible but somehow detached and larger than life (and slightly scaled up from the figure she is holding).” Adjusted scale as with Michelangelo’s Roman Pieta. More private/personal as the dead figure is turned away from us in this case, not displayed to us.

    Jim ichard Wilson

    January 14, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    • I wanted it more private and personal, yes, and also to suggest an infant more (he’s nearly nursing). I was happy to have good-natured, uninhibited models who knew each other well for that pose, as I basically had to ask the guy to bury his face in her breast. I originally also turned the head to make a gender-neutral reading possible, but even after I put in his hair and lengthen it, I would have to tone down the muscles to really make that convincing, and that’s hard because part of what attracted me to using this particular model was the wiry tone. Still deciding on that one.

      marycoreymarch

      January 15, 2012 at 7:38 am

  2. And yes, I was thinking about that particular Pieta, which I have been lucky to see in person on several occasions (once before the plexiglass was installed). 🙂

    marycoreymarch

    January 15, 2012 at 7:39 am


Leave a Reply

