From the Studio

thoughts on art and process in action from a contemporary artist

Marathon

leave a comment »


Studio Wall

Studio Wall

This is an intense process.  It continues to feel like a marathon run, sometimes with a bit of downhill, and sometimes leaving one gasping for breath, and yet I can feel myself building endurance as well as new skills, acquiring new colors.

I love watching the layers of afterimages build.  My living room is filled with piles of colored scales- I estimate a little less than a thousand- threaded and unthreaded.  I’ve got them sorted by color to try and get a sense of what I need more of, what is sufficient and to get a sense of them as a whole.

The general message is that I need to fill out the light color range.  I love the way they look scattered about as each batch gets set aside to dry- like rivers, like rose petals, like autumn leaves.   It’s a beautiful process.

Finished Scales drying

Finished scales drying

Well- so much more to do.  Off I go.

Written by marycoreymarch

October 4, 2009 at 8:58 pm

Leave a Reply

